Shiver by Lisa Jackson

12

BACK-COVER TEASER:

THE CRIMES ARE UNTHINKABLE

A serial killer is turning the Big Easy into his personal playground. The victims are killed in pairs — no connection, no apparent motive, no real clues. It’s a very sick game, and it’s only just begun.

THE FEAR IS REAL

Abby Chastain left New Orleans long ago and for good reason. Now she’s back where she feels watched, as if the devil himself is scraping a fingernail along her spine. It doesn’t help that Detective Reuben Montoya is convinced she’s somehow the key to unlocking these horrible crimes — a mystery that has something to do with Our Lady of Virtues Hospital, a decaying old asylum where unspeakable crimes were once committed, and a human predator may still wait.

THE TRUTH IS DEADLY

As more bodies are found in gruesome, staged scenarios, Montoya and Abby are in a desperate race to stop a killer whose terrifying crimes are bridging them even nearer to a shocking revelation. For the past is never completely gone. Its sins must be avenged. And a twisted psychopath is getting close enough to make them. . .

SHIVER

REVIEW:

Shiver is the third book in the New Orleans series written by Lisa Jackson. When I picked this up in Booksale of course I had no idea that it was on a series. When I read the back-cover teaser (which I always do when I buy books) of this, it was enough to flick my curiosity. I couldn’t say that I didn’t like it or that I hate it but I also couldn’t say that I love it. The idea or the concept of the book was really great, I think it wasn’t just written like the way I imagined it to be. The prologue was good enough to ignite more of my curious mind but the story was a bit slow moving for me as compared to the Dead Run in which as I remember the thrill was spot on and it held me up to the very end. I found that this book has many repetition in the dialogue and in some part of the story which kind of bothered me a little.

As for the killing or murdering part, I could say that it was gruesome enough and in a certain manner which I understand because wasn’t that the mark of a serial killer? But I wasn’t really happy with the reason as to why the killer had to kill and kill the victim in such manner or as to why he was after a person whom I think showed no concrete relation to him. The thrill built up on the latter part of the story but then I was kind of disappointed with the ending because the questions I had throughout the book weren’t completely answered in the end. I think the connections or the relationships of and between the characters and the stories were a little off but then I told myself ‘It’s on a series right? Maybe I have to read all the books on the series before I’ll understand it all.’ Dead run was also in a series but I was completely satisfied with the story because though it was part of a series it was still whole, there was closure and answer to the questions. It can stand as a sole/independent book.

If I have to rate this book, I should say I’m giving it a 2.5 out 5.

Leave a Reply

