Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Jojo-MoyesThis is the first book I’ve read by Jojo Moyes, in fact I discovered about this book from a post of one of my favorite bloggers. She included it in her Things I’m Loving Friday post and because I’m always in the lookout for new books to read so I thought I should give it a read.

At first I thought this is just going to be a light read of your typical romance novel but I can assure you that isn’t the case. I read this novel without having any clue or any background of what it is about, I just assumed that it is just your typical romance book with all of its cliche’s. That is exactly the reason why I hate reading something without having any idea of its content because it mostly ends up with the book slapping me really hard right in the face with its unexpected story but it is also the beauty of it, I must say.

I don’t feel like giving a synopsis of this book. I just don’t want to divulge the story because I feel like, that will ruin the beauty of the story.

Me Before You is a heart-wrenching, emotional and thought provoking novel. I can say it is a realistic story without a lot of exaggerations. Though I’d better prefer for it to have more dialogue lines but not too many that it’ll look like a script. I also like that it is in a first person point of view not only with the main character but with the few of the other characters as well. It gives the readers a peak of the other characters mind and their story.

Me Before You touches a sensitive issue, it makes you think. It makes you wonder what are you gonna do if it is you in the shoes of the characters. The ending is maddening and sad and tore my hear into a million pieces that it left me in a river of tears but I cannot get myself to disagree with it completely. It makes you weigh the options and chances. It made my mind and my heart really ambivalent. This is the kind of novel that’ll leave a print in your mind. That’s how good it is and that’s why I highly recommend it to give it a read.

I should say that this is the best novel I’ve read so far outside of my comfort (crime, mystery, suspense, thriller) genre. I think I have made an excellent use of time reading this. To tell you, I am still heart broken up to this moment that I am reliving the story.

Me Before You is a novel I did not see coming. Not at all.

Leave a Reply

