The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

81XwkjrFvTLI know, I am so late in the bandwagon with this one and that was because when this book was at the height of its hype, I was actually busy reading other books. Though I wasn’t really behind with the knowledge that this has been compared with Gillian Flynn’s ‘Gone Girl’ so much which I haven’t gotten to read yet and I’m not really sure if I ever will but I’ve seen the movie and honestly, until now I still don’t know how I feel about it. Maybe that was one other reason why I sat this aside to read for quite a while.

While I was reading it, I kind of had a glimpse as to why this has been compared to Gone Girl. This book has been a mess from start to finish. No, it’s not the story or the book itself, I’m referring to the characters. Wow, can they get any messier than that? There are six main characters, three females and three males. The story were told interchangeably between the three females – which is nicely done – to whom I must say, all has a thing about motherhood or being a mom.

Personally, I found this book slow-paced in the beginning that made me kind of just forced myself to read it through then it got interesting when it started to play my mind. I found myself guessing here and there, speculating this and that, suspecting him and her. This didn’t just toyed my mind, it also toyed my feelings. I had a love and hate relationship with the characters especially Rachel. Their mentality and choices frustrated me big time like a lot. This is a psychological thriller indeed. It was gripping towards the end but there was something about the ending that didn’t really flatter me.

I could say that this is a decent and well-written book considering that this is the author’s first thriller book. It isn’t really that bad. All in all, it was an enjoyable read even though I was really ambivalent throughout the story which I think kind of added to the thrill while reading. There were also a lot of interesting surprises. Would I recommend it? I think so, if you are looking for something to pass time, you can read this in one sitting. But if you are a fan of Gone Girl or if you liked it so much, maybe lower you expectations with this one. There were similarities yes but bear in mind that this is a different book, different story. Just don’t expect it to be exactly the same with Gone Girl because they are not.

Leave a Reply

