Sight Unseen by Robert Goddard

SightUnseenThis is the first book that I’ve read by Goddard. I picked it up randomly in my favorite thrift bookstore so I started reading it not knowing what to expect. The story centered about an abduction of a two-year-old girl named Tamsin Hall and a murder of her sister Miranda Hall on 27th July of 1981 at Avebury while out in a walk under the watch of their nanny. One of the witnesses was a Ph.D student David Umber, who was sitting in a pub waiting for his appointment with Mr. Griffin, who was supposed to show him a velum bound books that he claimed could help Umber in his study about the Junius’ letters but he never showed up. Then twenty-three years later, the wounds was again reopened, and David Umber embarked on a quest to search for answers, to know what really happened that day at Avebury.

I have to admit though that the start has kind of confused me maybe because it was describing about a place or history that I wasn’t really familiar with. And speaking of which, there really was a history involved in this book about British politics, the Junius’ letters played a role in this. I must also admit that during the parts in the book wherein it was telling the story behind the letters and where it came from and who wrote them, I felt lost because I couldn’t really comprehend it and I told myself that it was somewhat understandable because it was something that I really had no idea, it was just so alien to me.

But the story itself was pretty much captivating, I had my guesses as to who the culprit was but I never stuck to any one of them for so long because of the twists and turns on the plot. I wouldn’t say that it was cleverly written as some parts were just weird or that they just came out of the blue and I wasn’t really that satisfied about the ending but I wasn’t too disappointed about it either. I also felt like the other characters were abandoned, in a sense that I would want to know what happened to them and that also pertains to the culprits.

I admire and have always been fascinated about the authors who can skillfully weave history into their stories while coming up with interesting twists and I am convinced that Goddard has that. All in all, this book is a good and decent read to pass your time and chill out with. And I am definitely interested to read more of Goddard’s works.

Leave a Reply

