The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

This was one of those books that I discovered and robyngotten curious of because it was talked a lot in pretty much everywhere when it first came out but I have managed to put off reading it until this time. At first I didn’t know that it’s a Young Adult book, I actually thought it’s like a self-help one, meaning I have no idea at all as to what this book is about.

The Beginning of Everything is about how the life of the golden-boy, Ezra Faulkner, changed after one accident that pretty much shattered his plans, career, and social life and status. From being the popular Mr. Perfect, awesome tennis player with a hot girlfriend to a walking mess with a cane, who lost himself after a car accident. It’s a story of Ezra discovering and finding himself.

The story started out good, I was thrilled when I realized that it was being narrated by Ezra himself, it was just unexpected because it has been a while since the last time I’ve read something in a guy’s perspective. It was light and a fast-read, I also found myself imagining my high school days a lot. One of the things that I liked about this book is that it’s relatable in general, like being a teenager trying to fit in, living in some standards and doing the things that other people expects them to do even though they don’t want to. The story itself was decent and good enough for me, I was actually content about how it all turned out but I was not at all satisfied about Cassidy’s reasons behind her mysterious and reserved nature which was the thing that really frustrated me a lot while reading.

Through this book, I discovered the word Sillage, the word for when you have a lingering impression of something having passed by (the thought of it amuses me). I also have found and highlighted a few quotes that I felt attached to, it just felt like it speaks for me.

“Keeping quite was safe. Words could betray you if you chose the wrong ones, or mean less if you used too many. Jokes could be grandly miscalculated, or stories deemed boring, and I’d learned early on that my sense of humor and ideas about what sorts of things were fascinating didn’t exactly overlap with my friends.” — This quote applies to me, couldn’t agree more with it. This is my reason as well as to why I choose to stay quiet most of the time.

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do / With your one wild and precious life?” — I asked this to myself too since it’s so applicable to my life right now.

“I wondered what things became when you no longer needed them, and I wondered what the future would hold once we’d gotten past our personal tragedies and proven them ultimately survivable.” — This gives me hope that my problems and challenges in life are, just like what it says, survivable (I like that word). I’ll get over them, learn from them and be inspired by them.

“Oscar Wilde once said that to live is the rarest thing in the world, because most people just exist, and that’s all.  I don’t know if he’s right, but I do know that I spent a long time existing, and now,  I intend to live.” — Need I say more? The latter part is my favorite. I’ve found my new mantra.

All in all, it was a good read, a fast and easy one. Made me ponder about myself and my life.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

  1. Sounds like a very good read. Might pick it up, one of these good days. I’ve encountered “sillage” before but at the time it pertained more to scents than anything else. Hmmm. Intriguing.

    May I read more of you?

    Like

    1. Well, you can always give it a try. 😀 Yes, when I googled the word ‘sillage’ it all pertained to scents. The idea is the same it was just used in a different. 😀 Sure, if there are morw that interest you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

