Rooms by Lauren Oliver

13579626I started reading this book without knowing anything about it so it kind of shock me when I found out while reading this that this is a ghost story in a unique way. It’s a story about a family who went back to their country house to claim their inheritance from their deceased father and husband, Richard Walkers. The house was inhabited by two ghosts, Alice and Sandra, who also once resided the house when they were alive. The story was told interchangeably by the characters, using each part/room of the house as the setting.

The whole concept was really appealing to me, I thought it was really good, the story of the living and the dead intersects in the present time. Sounds cool, right? But I don’t  know, honestly, I am not a fan of this book. The characters were all flawed, fighting their own battles with themselves: vices, sadness, loneliness, and even suicide. I did not find that weird or alien at all, maybe I just did not get as to where those negativities came from or maybe I was just not that convinced about it. They all seemed to hate Richard Walker, except for Trenton, but it wasn’t really explored as to why they hate him or maybe the reasons were not strong enough for it to be convincing. It was just plainly told, he was an asshole, but I don’t really understand as to how and why.  I was so eager and curious to know but that wasn’t given to me. Also Trenton was so engrossed with committing suicide but I just don’t get why he wanted it so badly, or maybe the reasons were, again, just too shallow for me. I don’t know, those parts really frustrated me a lot.

It was also a little bothersome for me that the story was told by many characters, if I’m not mistaken I was reading like seven point of views, and that was just too many for me. Good thing though that, the story wasn’t so repetitive, it may be a new character’s point of view but usually it picked up where it was left off. There were parts wherein the story being told from the present to the past then back to the present, I found some of that a little confusing.

I am a fan of the whole idea of it: the living people and the  ghosts residing in one house full of history, secrets and mystery and using every part of the house as the setting. It thought it was a brilliant idea, a big clap clap for that. I guess the execution and delivery just wan’t enough.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts about it? I’m really curious.

Leave a Reply

