A Thin Dark Line by Tami Hoag

tami hoagThis was one of the last books that I’ve picked up in my favorite second hand bookstore some time last year mainly because the cover gave me a slight creepy feeling and it was a pretty thick book which what I was going for at the time.

A Thin Dark Line is about finding the truth and giving justice. People of Bayou Breaux has been terrorized with fear when the mutilated body of the murder victim, Pam Bichon has been discovered in which the prime suspect was set free because of technicality. Nick Fourcade, the detective assigned with the case was suspected of planting the evidence and a number of people was convinced because of his tarnished past. But Nick was so determined to find out the truth and to give Pam justice and so is Annie Broussard, the deputy who found Pam’s body.

I liked how the story started, I thought the epilogue was written in a unique way that has really captured my curiosity. I remember feeling so frustrated as I was reading, the book also showed an ugly side of the law and the people who should be upholding it. But the frustration was more for Annie and how she was treated or should I say bullied by her colleagues for her conviction of a crime she witnessed. The way her coworkers played her, chewed her, looked down on her, those made me want to slap those officers in their faces left and right and give them a fiery flying kick. Those people really had gotten on my nerves. The book also had me guessing as to who the culprit was which I like of course, I had a few changes in mind which added to my frustration and enjoyment. The author’s misdirection was on point. The twist in the end was something I did not see coming which was a plus but I found it not that impactful for me. I also thought that the story was a bit dragged on maybe that’s why the thrill and anticipation wasn’t held on that much.

A Thin Dark Line didn’t disappoint me. All in all, it was a great and enjoyable read. The characters were believable and the differences in their personalities made it more interesting. All the loose ends were nicely wrapped – a huge CLAP CLAP for that – and with that I felt so contented and satisfied. Not supplementing my curiosity and/or not answering all of my questions in a story is the thing that I hate the most. Will I recommend it? Of course, I will. It’s a good book to read. Tami Hoag is definitely an addition to the list of crime-thriller authors that I like.

Rate: 👍👍👍👍

Leave a Reply

