WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee …

I’d probably ask you if we can go somewhere with a nice view where we can appreciate our hot cup of joe and chill and chat. It has been a long while since the last time I went out, I couldn’t even remember when was the last time. I miss getting made up and enjoy the outside world, I have been cooped up here at home since December, yep last year. See, how boring my life is?

If we were having coffee …

I’d tell you that this past few days, it has been full of reminders of my past. I had a glimpse of what I used to like, of how I used to think, my plans and my dreams, basically, I had a lot of reminders of how and who I was as a person. ย I know it sounds so dramatic but it’s the truth though.

If we were having coffee …

I’d like to tell you that I have been enjoying a lot of things lately but now that I am thinking about it, I cannot specifically enumerate what they are, the mind is blanking out. How funny is that? I have started watching a new show Criminal Minds: Beyond Border, honestly, I got interested about it because it stars Gary Sinise, who has been in CSI: NY and I loved him in that. It’s different from CSI – if you know me, you’ll know my addiction with the CSI series – but I’m liking it so far. I also got back in reading books, I actually have finished two recently and again, the feeling made me realized why I have fallen in love with reading in the first place and I so missed it. And last night, I have developed a fascination for vintage and eerie photos. ย I stayed up all night, completely lost track of time for I have been scouring pinterest for all those beautiful photos and before I knew it, it was already 7 in the morning. I think I now understand how dangerous pinterest can be. Allow me to share some of my favorites:

The first picture was the grand staircase of the Titanic, the second was the coal miners – child laborers of before, and the last one was a photo of a mom and daughter – aren’t they lovely? I’ve seen a lot of old photos from a lot of familiar names like Anne Frank, Pocahontas, Amelia Earhart and many more, so that made me scour photos from the Philippine history.

I’ve seen photos of our national heroes, a lot of Dr. Jose Rizal of course – my ever so favorite idol – presidents, old streets of Manila, churches but what got me really smitten was the beauties of the Filipinas.ย Who says Filipinas aren’t pretty? Who says Filipiniana isn’t classy and elegant? Just look at them. Okay, I’ll stop now, I am getting really carried away here. ๐Ÿ˜€

That’s all for now. Let’s do it again next time. ^^

6 thoughts on “WeekendCoffeeShare

    1. Awww, me too. It reminded me a lot of my grandmother. I’ve seen photos of her and my grandpa when they were young and I consider those really pretty to look at. Treasure! Yay! Thank you. ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Why hello, my good woman —

    Firstly, let me tell you how thoroughly I enjoyed this post, for I am a fan, too, of the Old World. Not particularly the clothing styles (though that is fun, too. I remember at work we had this Decades Party and our division had been assigned The Forties and that was amazing! I had also attended this certain themed event for a magazine launch where we had to dress up in Gatsby (Yes, the book made into film). I had never worn so much hair gunk in my entire life!) but how people behaved and treated the other – with much more refinement, and much more respect (I am of course, just approximating. I have never known or interviewed anyone from such an era.).

    Not a photo, but two paintings, haunt me from the Old World. I stumbled upon it while at The National Museum, both pieces credited to our good man, the famed Juan Luna. The first one is entitled “Tampuhan”. I have a print of it and is on display on my desk at work. One can almost “feel” the lovers coming to life (I sometimes wish they would, haha, if only to repair some old hurt, reason for the painting’s title.).

    The other, is “La Bulaquena” – she is as mysterious as her Old European equal, the Mona Lisa.

    Do look for these painting when you find the good time (Oh, if only to get you out of the house and into a museum.). Or you can Google for them.

    I agree with you. Filipinas are pretty. Filipinas are one of the most beautiful women around. And I am not saying this because I am biased, but because it is true (I have several expats say that. One even tried to analyze it, what sets the Filipina apart, and he says it has to do with their charm, innocence, and this mysterious. knowing smile. And then there’s this genuine warmth and hospitality which he finds both fascinating and “uniquely Filipino”.)

    I, too, have a pinterest board. Maybe one day when you are less afraid of me, we can be fellow pinners? Maybe even share a board? I would love to view your board, one day, if you’d let me.

    I apologize. Just now I reviewed my comment and saw that this is more about me than your post, or you. Hahaha. Next time, I’ll try to talk less of me and focus more on the subject, at hand.

    But this has been quite entertaining. Thank you.

    The Good Man of Ye Old World

    Like

    1. Yay! I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post for I have enjoyed writing it too. ๐Ÿ™‚ The old times exudes a certain charm that is beguiling which I find fascinating and interesting.

      You got me curious about those works, I might check them out later in my laptop. I have actually been planning to visit the national museum for a long while now and I have a ton of reasons and excuses for not being able to do so.

      Oh I’d love to see your pins and have a glimpse of what stuff you like. ^^ That’ll be really cool though my boards aren’t really that interesting. You can find me here: https://www.pinterest.com/gerrytology/

      I don’t really mind, you sharing your thoughts and experiences. I do appreciate it actually, so don;t ever hesitate to write up all the things that you want. ๐Ÿ˜€ And you have entertained me with your comment as well. ^^ Hurray for I have a reader that is YOU! โค

      Like

Leave a Reply

