The Reading Habits Book Tag

I was randomly reading new posts from my reader last night until I came across this dear friend’s post and much to my surprise, I was tagged! Yay! I totally enjoyed reading it and seem like a lot fun to answer and since I was tagged might as well just do it. It’s supposed to be a book review post day but I don’t have any as of now since I’m still half-way done with my current read, it’s a long one really.

So let’s get into this:

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Our apartment is relatively small for eight persons and two dogs, so the house tends to get really noisy and loud and rowdy most of the time so I really have no choice but to read in our room or sometimes in my parent’s room if they’re not there. I rarely read in the living room because it rarely gets absent of people but when it happens I do read there too, plus the lighting is really good and bright. Less strain for the eyeballs. ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
I don’t really own a bookmark. A random piece of paper? I’ve done that before, the last thing I’ve used as a bookmark was a cut-out that I used as a stencil for my brother’s project way back last year. My favorite way of bookmarking which I always do when I read physical books, is to fold the top corner of the page where I left off. Yep, that’s how I do it.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
No, I cannot just stop reading; I hate it when I have to stop midway of the chapter. I literally have to finish the chapterย before I can leave it.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
I can eat while reading. I can drink while reading. I can also do both while reading. But most of the time you’ll find me drinking tea or coffee while reading and I will not have a care in the world ’cause I’m already comfy like that.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
The reason why I do my reading mostly at night when everybody is already dozing off is because noise easily distracts me. The very introvert in me prefers mellow environment. I can still read with the telly and/or music on but don’t expect me to just comfortably read because I need to stop at every few paragraphs to dispel a little of the distractions, clear the mind and continue reading. It’s like swimming; you need to swim up to catch some oxygen before you can swim again.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
Definitely and without a doubt, one book at a time please. That’s the way I can thoroughly enjoy the book I’m reading. That’s a better way for me to understand and absorb what the book is about.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
I am of course the most comfortable reading at home, where I can just lie on bed if my back hurts from sitting for long and freely walking to and fro our kitchen to get refills of my drinks and/or snacks. I tried reading on a moving bus when my friends and I were on our way to our vacation last year but it was too wobbly and the light was too dim for me so I just gave up. I think I can read anywhere as long as it’s quiet, not to hot and enough light if I am to read a physical book.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
I like reading out loud, not too loud as if I’m doing a speech though, just loud enough for me to hear, mostly just more than a whisper really then I silently read to myself when I get tired. It’s a habit I made of. It’s my way of improving my pronunciation and speaking skills. Speaking is definitely a goal that I want to get better at.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
A hundred percent no. No matter how bad or great the book is, I do not read ahead nor skip pages. Just no. Even though I know for sure what will happen in the end, I believe that it’s still important to know the stories in between because you never know what might be in there. Maybe the most satisfying twists and turns you’re craving are in there … and you just missed it. How wasteful that is. I cannot forgive myself if that ever happens to me.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I hate hate hate breaking the spine of a book even though most of my books came from second-hand book shops especially when I bought it really brand new. I don’t really mind folding the top corners as my bookmark but breaking the spine is a no no for me. I like keeping my things like new as much as possible.

11. Do you write in your books?
I hardly ever do so unless it’s really important or impactful for me. But nowadays that I mostly read in my iPad, I like highlighting some parts that I like then whenever I feel like it, I go back to it and read it again and be reminded why I liked that part in the first place.

12. Who do you tag?
I cannot think of anyone to tag but you. Whoever you are reading this, if you feel like doing this please do so and let me know ’cause I enjoy reading this as much as answering it.

6 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Book Tag

Leave a Reply

