Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

This is another book that I would want to have a physical copy of because I just related a lot to it. I know this is a book that isn’t really alien to a lot of us anymore because a lot of people actually have raved about it and talked about it that it has even been adapted into a movie which starred by Julia Roberts.

Eat, Pray, Love is the story of the author herself, Elizabeth Gilbert, about her journey of self-discovery. She has everything a woman could ask for: a husband, a house in New York and a successful career as a writer and yet she still felt empty and unhappy. So she divorced her husband, left everything she had and embarked on an adventure to find herself. That’s how she spent four months in Italy for pleasure through amazing food and learning the language, then she spent another four months in India for devotion. There she went in an Ashram and learned about the power of prayer and meditation. After that she spent her final four months in Bali for balance between pleasure/enjoyment and spirituality.

For the first part which was set in Italy, I found it a little bit hard to read for some reason. It was supposed to highlight the ‘pleasure’ part but for me, I felt like it was a bit lacking like it wasn’t really explored that much. It mostly talked about her fallen marriage, the painstaking process of the divorce and the depression she experienced after that. For the second part which was set in an Ashram in India, among the three parts, this is the one that stood out for me, maybe because this was the one in which I have related a little bit to her because she talked more about the battles she has with herself. Even though I do not know anything about yoga and/or meditation, I was fascinated by the concepts of it which has really intrigued me. And for the last part which was set in Bali, Indonesia, well I think it was just an okay story.

The things that I surely love from this book are her writing style and her sense of humor. I love the way she writes with flowery and descriptive words, oh I’m a fan with that and I found it really entertaining, her humor is on point. While reading the book, it felt like as if I was just listening to a friend sharing these stories over a cup of coffee which I have really admired.

If you’d ask me who my favorite character is,  well I have two actually. First, can I have me some Ketut Liyer please? I really really like his personality. Whenever the story motioned to him, I never failed to have a smug on my face, he’s just so cute. Who wouldn’t want an enlightened friend, right? If you needed advise on to anything in life just ask him and before you knew it, you already have the answer. Second, I’d like me to have some Richard from Texas too please. He may be annoying at first because he may have the tendency to stick his nose in onto your business/life but that was just because he wanted you to realize something, or at least for me, that’s how I envisioned him. But he’s an enlightened friend as well, just like Ketut, he can give you the advises and answers that you need  too. And the other thing that I like about him so much, is that he makes the weird yet sweet endearment, just like how he calls Liz, he calls her Groceries.

All in all it was an entertaining experience of reading, though I do not completely love it but I do not hate it either. Did I mention that I really like her writing style? Do I recommend this? Maybe to those people whom I think can relate, yes. If you’re plainly curious about this book then I don’t think it’ll hurt to give this a try, you never know what a book can teach you because I have definitely learned few things from here. Through this book, I have taken in consideration that I may be a control freak.

“Life didn’t go your way for once. And nothing pisses off a control freak more than life not ‘goin her way.”

– So me. No, that is literally me. It drives me mad when things doesn’t go the way I want them to be.

And also through this book, I’ve discover my favorite parting endearment ever. It goes like this: ‘See you later, alligator.’ then the answer to that would be ‘In a while, crocodile.’ Isn’t that just cute and adorable? No? Just me? It never failed to make me smile and giggle whenever I read that. I think that came from Ketut too, see I just love him so much.

And if you are a sucker for good quotes, hmmm .. you’ll definitely find plenty in this book, with that being said, allow me to share some of my favorites:

A soul mates purpose is to shake you up, tear apart your ego a little bit, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life, then introduce you to your spiritual master…

Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.

You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.

You are, after all, what you think. Your emotions are the slaves to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.

That’s all for now folks. ^^  See you all later, alligators. —-> I am just really fond of this parting endearment, so I have all the intention to copy it. 😀

13 thoughts on “Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

  1. I remember reading this book years ago .. in Bali 🙂 Yes, I agree with you, it was a great one, one of those you wish would last much much longer .. Did you read any other book from this author? X

    Like

      1. It was actually pure chance. Found it at the airport and as I didn’t know what to read .. I ll get the Big Magic then, so we can talk about it 😉

        Like

      1. The exam is on monday, oh gosh, I’m really crossing my fingers for that position. It’s not much but I consider it as a good start for my career. Really? You’ll give me a book? OMG!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yay! That just made me so hyped up. Lol I rarely get/receive gifts, so when I do, I really appreciate it. Like BIG TIME!! But I need to not get so excited right now, just so not to jinx it. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

