Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent

First of all, can we all take a moment and appreciate the cover please because if you can ever have a peek at what my brain would look like, I think that’ll probably be it, an abstract of a mess. So just for the cover itself, it has already won me over, add in the words for the title, oh I feel like I want to do a hundred cartwheels for that – well not really, maybe just ten – because I’m all about that. It just screams the very thing that I’m struggling with right now, okay fine, it sums up my life at the moment. Yep, that’s right. That’s why I know I can totally relate to this book.

Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse is the story of the author, Alida Nugent, about her journey and experiences in transitioning to adulthood. Basically, it’s her story after getting out of college with a degree in hand facing a door into the real world.

“ADULTHOOD was officially here, and I needed to get off my ass and embrace it.”

This book has got me hooked right from the intro. I loved her humor; she definitely made me laugh a lot of times. As I’ve said before, it is very relatable. The first half of the book was nostalgic, at least for me because it brought me back to my college years and a few years after that. It made me picture what I was before, the things I did, imagined and dreamed of. This book has a lot of advices to offer, did I learn something new? Honestly, no. There’s nothing on it that I haven’t read or heard before but it kind of comforted me in a way that what I am going through now is nothing out of the ordinary, that it happens to a lot of people, not just me. I find it fun, inspiring and motivating to know what other people have been through, how they handle and deal with it and also to learn the lessons that they’ve learned.

My favorite part would have to be the advice that she gave in the latter part of the book in the form of a graduation speech. Again, it was nothing out of the ordinary and yet it kind of gave me a breather and realized that my life is perfectly normal even though it is not going the way I’d like it to be.

“Until you start to get your legs moving, you will always feel like you are lost.”

Obviously, I love this book. I love how humorous it is. I love the style, it’s fresh. And I love how relatable and realistic it is. Will I recommend this? Of course, I will. It’s a good read. So, if you are a twenty-something and you would want to read something that can inspire and motivate you in some way or a reminder that you are normal and human, just like what Alida said:

“Life is not a movie. No happy ending is guaranteed. No wound is closed by magic.”

then give this book a go. Read it.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent

Leave a Reply

