July Books Round-Up

My relationship with reading has been on and off since the latter half of last year and I can come up of a thousand reasons/excuses as to why, so I wouldn’t even dare and waste time for that. But July has been different, maybe that was because I was just bored to death or I was just drowning in an ocean of stress – both, actually – that I had seek refuge and escape thru the world of reading and as usual it didn’t fail to provide me those. I have contemplated of sharing my thoughts about the books just like I always did but I wasn’t really feeling it at the time, so I didn’t stress about it and just kept on reading.

So here are the books I’ve read for the month of July:

The Enchantress by Michael Scott
– This has been a long time coming. This is the last book in the author’s series The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. I love this series so much, it made me a fan of reading. Yep. That happened. If you like adventure, fantasy, magic and mythology with a lot of disgusting and creepy looking creatures – at least, in my imagination- and if you don’t mind reading a six book series, read this.

Find Her by Lisa Gardner
– I was definitely on my element when I read this. Mystery, thriller, suspense … screams me. My favorite genre. I remember this has toyed with my mind. If you’re like me, who just loves thriller, give this a try.

Undercover by Danielle Steel
– I absolutely enjoyed this book. The first part may have been a little slow for me but it definitely made up on the latter half. If you know me, you’ll know romance and action is a pretty famous combo for me.

A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks
– Honestly, I have a torn heart for this. I don’t love it but I don’t hate it either. It has a little bit of romance and a little bit of mystery but the climax I think is what killed it for me. The twist in the end, I found it a bit lacking. I think it’s still a decent and entertaining read.

After You by Jojo Moyes
– I have to say that I was a little hesitant to read this after the heart-wrenching, soul-breaking mess I had experienced when I read Me Before You. I even hadn’t watch the movie yet, I guess I just don’t want to go through it again. But of course with so much curiosity eating me up, I gave in and I didn’t regret. I don’t want to spoil anything if you hadn’t read it. Just read it.

Zero Excuses: Hot to live a Beautiful Life and be Cool as F*ck by Gabriel Machuret
– This has been the greatest book I’ve read so far this year. One of the books that I’d very much want to have the physical copy ย of. It’s a light read, it’s practical, it’s funny, it’s true. This book made me feel so guilty about a lot of things. From start to finish, if not all then a big chunk of it strongly resonated to me. So relatable.

Six books for a month is already plenty right? But I thought I have read more than that. I hope I can read more this coming month.

11 thoughts on “July Books Round-Up

    1. Akala ko pa nga talaga hindi lang anim ang nabasa ko. Haha ambisyosa lang. ๐Ÿ˜† Okay lang yan friend. Read when able. ๐Ÿ‘ Wala lang kasi talaga ako magawa, kaya pagbabasa ang napagbuntunan.

      Like

    1. Me Before You sobrang recommended ko. Read it. Curious ako sa magiging reaction mo. Haha After You maganda rin naman, lighter than the first one. Sabihan mo ko if binasa mo huh. Tell me your thoughts about it. ๐Ÿ˜

      Like

  1. Nakakainggit, ang dami mong nabasa for the month of July! Hehe. Gusto ko rin talaga basahin ‘yung After You kaso halos lahat ng mga review na nababasa ko, sabi hindi raw maganda and sana di nalang daw nilagyan ng sequel yung MBY. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Huhu. Sad pa rin ba ‘yung After You na book?

    Like

    1. Haha uy naman, nasa mood lang siguro talaga ako nung mga panahon na yan. Ang mga stress ko sa buhay, sa pagbabasa ko na binuhos. Ang intense naman kasi ng Me Before You kaya mahirap na talaga masundan yun, kahit naman ako biased rin. Kaya nga hanggang ngayon hindi ko pinapanood yung movie nun kasi ayoko talaga maspoil yung feelings ko sa book.

      Okay naman yung After You eh basta wag mo lang taasan ang expectation mo. Iba kasi talaga siya sa Me Before You. Sobrang intense nun kasi sakin ang heavy ng mga pangyayari. With After You naman, light lang siya at least for me huh. It’s nothing like Me Before You talaga.

      Let me know if binasa mo huh. Let me know what you think. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sige, sige. Balitaan kita! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Pero totoo ‘no, parang minsan ayaw mo na panoorin ‘yung movie sa sobrang ganda ng book baka madisappoint ka lang. Di maiiwasang mag compare at hanapin ‘yung mga nawalang scene. Hahaha

        Like

      2. Korek. Hindi naman kasi lahat ng detalye sa book inaadapt nila sa fil eh. May mga binabago talaga sila or inoomit. Sinasamba ko ang reaction ko sa Me Before You, iba kasi naging impact eh. Durog na durog ako eh. Grabe lang ang pinagdaanan ko sa pagbabasa niyan. Ayoko naman na mapalitan lang yun ng disappointment ano. ๐Ÿ˜„

        Like

Leave a Reply

