i.

I remember that night in senior prom
You took my hand and lead me to that dance floor
You deeply looked into my confused and worried eyes
I saw your face softened and you lips trembled

I was about to speak when you tightly hugged me
Sweet music then played in the background
You gracefully made us sway to the rhythm of the music
Then you whispered in my ear ‘This song is for you’

You sang the song as you pulled me closer
Couldn’t do anything but to listen
Something was up, I knew it
Still, I patiently waited with eyes full of tears

That was when I realized I was just like the others
Acted tough and strong in front of everyone
But deep inside, I was just a girl who was vulnerable
You were the one who melted me to feel everything

Then I feared what was about to happen
Made me realize I have taken you for granted
That I have never noticed your efforts
And proved that you were my thoughtful prince

You again looked at me in the eyes in the middle of the song
Tears fell and continued to run down my face
You wiped them away, held my chin and said
‘I promise I’ll come back for you’

I wanted to run as fast as I can but he held me
And wrapped his securing arms around me
Tears dropped on my bare shoulder, he cried
It broke my heart but his promise made it hurt even more

That was when I realized I was just like the others
Pretended to be a stone-hearted person
But deep inside, I was just a girl who was fragile
You were the one who melted to feel everything

Then I feared what was about to happen
Made me realize I have messed ‘us’ up
That I have never felt you existence has on me
And proved that you were the only prince for me

Where are you now? What about your promise?
Am I just wasting my time waiting?
I can’t wait any longer, it’s tiring
Where are you my prince?
Are promises really meant to be broken?

Leave a comment